Did it, loved it!

This has been a hard but fun job, incredible time pressure but I have been working with great people which obviously made the hard bits much lighter to bear. In the photo above you see a sneak peak of a couple of pages from the very first version of the food catalogue; the colour scheme is white, cream and natural, light wood which gives it a very light and airy feeling, far from how it has been made so far. I have shot live lobsters that didn’t stay still, oysters, Iranian Beluga caviar, white and black truffles, fish, giant shrimps, lots and lots of starters and festive foods and it has been fun to shoot food that I normally don’t see that much of. Well a truffle or two do pass our threshold but that is about it.

I have been working with two different food stylists and I cannot tell you how much I learnt from them and how luxurious it felt to have someone do all that job for me and doing it so much better than I ever could! Not to talk about all the laughs we have had, I must say that although the stress was pretty tangible at times, the atmosphere was always friendly and positive and that made us work so much better.

Garnish garnish garnish, an astounding amount of different garnishes have been used and I got a lot of new tips how to style and garnish food for photo shoots.

I also learnt that even though you have lots and lots of props, they are never, never enough!

anyway, the catalogues are finished, at least the photos but my work with the company in question and Armando Testa will continue which is good, both because I’d like to do it again and because it shows that they are satisfied with my work.

25 thoughts on “Did it, loved it!

  1. oh congratulations ilva! That is so exciting, and the catalog looks like it is going to be beautiful. I will have to see if I can get them to send me a copy here in the USA, I would love to see how your work all turned out!! : )

  2. Just beautiful, Ilva, beautiful! The colors are gorgeous and you are an incredibly talented photographer that inspires so many of us! I am thrilled to have been behind the scenes with you and hearing how you lived this experience. You are on your way up fast!

Leave a Reply

